Hey guys, Jana here,


Beginning in 1981, director Penelope Spheeris debuted the first of three documentaries highlighting L.A.’s music scene in the 80’s. She followed that with two more music docs that comprise the entire ‘The Decline of Western Civilization‘ series, and now it’s coming to Blu-ray and DVD in a four-disc anthology for the first time on June 30th.


Spheeris is the director behind ‘Wayne’s World‘, ‘The Little Rascals‘ and ‘Black Sheep‘ and she personally supervised the transformation of all 3 Declines into 2K high-def restoration. “I am so grateful to the fans of these films, and the bands that appeared in them, for their loyalty and patience,” Spheeris said in a statement. “This is my life’s work, and I like to think that when I go to my grave, The Decline is what I’ll be remembered for.”


Intense performances and revealing, in-depth interviews made the films come across as shocking and outrageous when it originally released. Featuring musicians that crossed all boundaries and created their own sound like Germs, Black Flag, X, Fear, Alice Cooper and Ozzy Osbourne, all show why they were the forces that shaped the music scene of the 80’s.

Bonus Features

New 2K Scan Of Each Film Supervised By Director Penelope Spheeris
Commentary By Dave Grohl
Tawn Mastrey Of KNAC Interviews Penelope Spheeris
Never-Before-Seen Original Footage, Performances and Interviews
Mark Toscano Of The Academy Film Archive Interviews Penelope Spheeris
Theatrical Trailers
40-Page Booklet Featuring Rare Stills And Text By Domenic Priore
And More…

“It’s fast and it’s aggressive and it’s rebellious and their parents hate it, which has always been the mark of good rock and roll. If your parents don’t like it, it’s good.” – Lemmy Kilmister

By Bryan Kluger

Former husky model, real-life Comic Book Guy, genre-bending screenwriter, nude filmmaker, hairy podcaster, pro-wrestling idiot-savant, who has a penchant for solving Rubik's Cubes and rolling candy cigarettes on unreleased bootlegs of Frank Zappa records.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *