2012 SXSW Film Awards Announced!!!

by Gumbercules9000 on Mar 14th, 2012

Hi, Bryan Here…..

SXSW 2012 film portion is over.  And it looks like the film ‘ Gimme The Loot’ won top prize this year.  And ‘Beware of Mr. Baker won top prize in the documentary category.  These films will be picked up quickly and you can expect them to be rolling out at a theatre near you in the coming months.


The 2012 SXSW Film Festival Award Winners:

Feature Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION: Grand Jury Winner, Gimme The Loot, Director: Adam Leon

Special Jury Recognition for Performance – Jamie Chung, Eden; Besedka Johnson –Starlet; Nico Stone – Booster


Grand Jury Winner: Beware of Mr. Baker, Director: Jay Bulger

Feature Film Audience Awards

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE Winner: Bay of All Saints, Director: Annie Eastman

NARRATIVE FEATURE Winner: Eden, Director: Megan Griffiths

Short Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE SHORTS: Winner – The Chair, Director: Grainger David

DOCUMENTARY SHORTS: Winner – CatCam, Director: Seth Keal

MIDNIGHT SHORTS Winner – Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared, Directors: Rebecca Sloan & Joseph Pelling

SXGLOBAL SHORTS Winner – The Perfect Fit, Director: Tali Yankelevich

ANIMATED SHORTS Winner – (notes on) biology, Director: Danny Madden

MUSIC VIDEOS Winner – Battles, “My Machines” Director: DANIELS

TEXAS SHORTS Winner: Spark, Director: Annie Silverstein

TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORTS Winner: Boom, Director: Daniel Matyas & Brian Broder

EXCELLENCE IN POSTER DESIGN Winner: Man & Gun, Designer: Justin CoxSpecial Jury Recognition: Pitch Black Heist Designer: Andrew Cranston

Audience Award Winner: The Maker, Designer: Christopher Kezelos

EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN Winner: Les Bleus de Ramville Designer: Jay Bond, Oily Film Company Inc.

Special Jury Recognition: X-Men: First Class, Designer: Simon Clowes, Prologue Films

Audience Award Winner: Bunraku, Designer: Guilherme Marcondes, Hornet Inc.

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW WHOLPHIN AWARD Winner: The Black Balloon, Director: Benny Safdie & Josh Safdie

SXSW CHICKEN & EGG EMERGENT NARRATIVE WOMAN DIRECTOR AWARD Winners: Megan Griffiths for Eden and Amy Seimetz for Sun Don’t Shine

LOUIS BLACK “LONE STAR” AWARD Winner: Bernie, Director: Richard Linklater

Special Jury Recognition: Trash Dance, Director: Andrew Garrison


Post to Twitter Post to Facebook

Leave a Reply

Sign Up for Newsletter


Movie Quotes

Cutler Beckett:
The enemy has opted for oblivion! Prepare the fleet.
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (2007) The Movie Quotes